Chicago Simeon (30‑4)

Chicago, Illinois

Illinois IHSA Class 4A State Runner-up

Top Players

  • 6-5 SR Talen Horton-Tucker (IOWA STATE) #54 (Rivals)
  • 6-5 SR Messiah Jones (DRAKE)
  • 6-3 SR Xavier Pinson
  • 6-4 SR Zion Young

Wolverines At A Glance

The Wolverines have won six state championships in head coach Robert Smith’s 13 seasons at his alma mater. They beat “Battle of Vincennes” rival Morgan Park 68-64 to claim their eighth Chicago Public Schools crown, behind 6-2 SR guard Kezo Brown’s 26 points, then ran off six more victories to reach the 4A state final, highlighted by wins over Thornton, once-beaten Edwardsville and Bolingbrook. Simeon’s proud history includes eight city titles (2017, 2016, 2012, 2007, 2006, 1988, 1985 and 1984), and 10 trips to the Final Four in Peoria over a 14-year span. The talented trio of 6-5 Messiah Jones (21 points, 18 boards & 5 blocks in 60-49 city semifinal win over Whitney Young), 6-4 Talen Horton-Tucker (24 points, six rebounds & six assists vs. Bolingbrook) and Brown all stepped up at different times during the playoff run, and are joined by two impact transfers – 6-3 SR Xavier Pinson (Chicago St. Patrick) and 6-4 SR Zion Young (Merrillville, Ind.). NBA star Jabari Parker won four state titles at Simeon, which also produced NBA Player of the Year Derrick Rose.